NEW’S | Azorean communities in Canada and the United States under debate

© Governo dos Açores

The Presidency of the Regional Government, through the Regional Directorate for the Communities, is promoting two debates on the Azorean communities in Canada and the United States of America, featuring the participation of the ten Azorean Diaspora Councilors elected by the two countries.

These two sessions will be held online and will be streamed on the Facebook page of the Regional Directorate for the Communities with the aim of discussing the current situation and future prospects of the Azorean diaspora in North America, as part of the celebrations of the national days of Canada and the United States.

The first debate with councillors Eduardo Bettencourt Pinto (British Columbia), Paulo Jorge Cabral (Manitoba), Matthew Correia (Ontario), Victor Faria (Quebec) and Carlos Eduardo de Almeida (Remaining Provinces) takes place next Saturday, July 1, Canada’s national holiday.

In turn, the second debate will be held next Tuesday, July 4, the national holiday that celebrates Independence Day in the United States of America, featuring councilors Zeto Carvalho (California), Rui Baptista (Massachusetts), Márcia Sousa da Ponte (Rhode Island), David Rebelo Pimentel (Remaining States) and Katherine Soares (Remaining States).

Both sessions will begin at 9 pm in the Azores and will be approximately 60 minutes long. They will be moderated by the Regional Director of Communities, José Andrade.

Canada and the United States are two of the main destinations of Azorean emigration, with hundreds of thousands of Azoreans and their descendants residing in different provinces and states. They are the driving force of an important movement of associations closely involved with the Autonomous Region of the Azores.


Mauricio De Jesus
Maurício de Jesus é o Diretor de Programação da Rádio Ilhéu, sediada na Ilha de São Jorge. É também autor da rubrica 'Cronicas da Ilha e de Um Ilhéu' que é emitida em rádios locais, regionais e da diáspora desde 2015.